Small Business Certification Program Description

This page contains brief descriptions of Federal business certification programs.

8(a) program

SBA certification for socially and economically disadvantaged businesses

  • the program was set up to guide small businesses
  • through the federal contracting process
  • additional information can be found at www.sba.gov/8abd/


HUBZone Empowerment Contracting and Certification

  • SBA administered program
  • provides federal contracting opportunities for qualified small businesses located in distressed areas
  • helps to empower communities, create jobs, and attract private investment
  • companies must be located in a "historically underutilized business zone,”
  • must be owned and controlled by one or more U.S. Citizens
  • at least 35% of its employees must reside in a HUBZone
  • a HUBZone is a qualified census tract with a median household income of less than 80 percent of the State median household income
  • or a qualified census tract with an unemployment rate of not less than 140 percent of the statewide average,
  • or lands within the boundaries of federally recognized Indian reservations
  • for additional info visit www.sba.gov/hubzone/


Woman-Owned Business Certification

  • newly enacted by Congress – Section 8 of the Small Business Act
  • a procurement program for women-owned small business concerns
  • a business that is at least 51% owned and operated by one or more women
  • program has not been implemented
  • self-certification


Veteran-Owned Small Business

  • a firm where 51% of the ownership and control of the enterprise is maintained by a veteran
  • prime contractors and agencies have “best effort” goals
  • Become a vetrepreneur.
  • self-certification but now required to verify: http://www4.va.gov/vetbiz/


Service Disabled Veteran Owned Small Business

  • a firm 51% of the ownership and control of the enterprise is maintained by a service disabled veteran
  • to qualify as a SDVOSB, you must have a letter from the Department of Veterans Affairs (VA), or your discharge paper from the branch of service you were in, stating that you have a service-connected disability rating ranging from 0% to 100% disability. There is no required minimum disability rating.
  • prime contractors and agencies have a 3% goal
  • self-certification





    Upcoming Workshops and Training

    Virtual GSA Workshop 

    Avoiding GSA Contract Audit Problems 

    How to Become a GSA Contractor

    Entering the Federal Market

    Follow Me